Newry Network: Guide to Newry Mourne & Gullion | Newry & Mourne Cricket Club | Newry Rugby Club  | Newry Chat  | Add Your Site

Online since April 1997

Friendly Fixtures
Apologies for not updating the site lately - I got married and have been on honeymoon. However, the re-design of the site is underway and I should have something for you to look at in August so that the new site should be live for the start of the season.
Away friendly fixtures have been scheduled while the pitch at the Showgrounds is readied for the new season. Newry play Dundalk on Thursday 18th July, Belfast Celtic on 23rd July and Shelbourne on 27th July.
Newry Institute (TEC)  is 100 years old this year and are looking for a student from every year from 1902 until the present day! We are currently finding it difficult to get students or their relatives for the early years. If you or a relative is a former student of Newry TEC please email Sharon
Goalkeeper Davy O'Hare is set to leave Newry for Coleraine following a contact mix-up at the Showgrounds. It is reported that Marty Quinn has signed O'Hare on a one-year deal.
There was a tough battle off the field for the The Showground Fan's Player of the Year title this season but Gavin Dykes managed to beat off the tough competition of Robbie Casey by just a few votes. Click here for more details.
Davy Munster ended Newry's season on a low scoring in the 89th minute at the Showgrounds. The Town were left with a ninth spot finish.
Alfie Wylie's position as manager for the 2002/2003 season was confirmed at a committee meeting last week, after good wins against Cliftonville and Coleraine. While the season has been disappointing in some respects the club are building from the ground up and Alfie's contribution should not be under-estimated. With an improved ground, a weeding out of underperforming players and more input from the reserve and junior squads the new season could be rewarding for the club, when Lisburn Distillery and Institute join the Premiership.
At the heart of next seasons squad would have to be players such as Robbie Casey, Gavin Dykes and Lee Anderson who scored highest in the fans Player of the Year poll. 
Thanks to McIvor Farrell Solicitors, over the summer months this website will have a major overhaul with a fresh design and more functional and up to date interface. Keep calling back here for updates.

0 Newry 1 match report by Sean

Alfie Wylie

Wylie position confirmed for next season

Other News:
Newry Fans Attacked at Oval
Wylie To Let Players Go

Drum Purchased For The Fans
Gareth Armstrong Signed On Loan
Players Hand Back Wages
Man United Programmes Wanted
Trevor Anderson Gestures Newry Fans
Gary McPhee Showground Fans 'Player of the Year'

World News:
The Showground - Advertisers Page

Newry Links

Click Here for details of last years winner

Robbie Casey Player Profile
Profile of team captain and top scorer Robbie Casey. Robbie and Gavin Dyles are neck & neck in the Player of the Year Poll !

Your chance to air your views at the Social Club- Just fill in this form, and add to the comments made from fans across the world - from Australia to France, England and America, Holland and of course Ireland ! not to mention Swaziland !

Supporters Match Reports
This is a new section and will contain all the latest match reports written by Newry fans.
Just email or fax the match report to me as soon as possible after the match email: or Fax: 070 9236 3106

Review of the 1997/98 Season
Jonny McCullagh  takes a look at the 1997/98 season which culminated in promotion to the Premier League for a club which had been on the brink of bankruptcy.

Search The Showground for:

Download the Flash Plugin at <a href=""></a>

  1997/98 season review

1999/2000 review

intertoto cup 1999

joe rice interview

old news 

old social club

results 1997-2000


sectarian behaviour

funny pics page

fantasy newry team

trevor anderson

squad 1997/98

adrian larkin

barry tumilty

chris coffey

gary peebles

john kenny

kevin mckeown

paul evans

tony scappaticci

trevor smith

alan hall

dessie gorman

jonathan drake

paul stranney

stuart mclean

alex spackman

john mcdonnell

mark rutherford

pat o'hare

john hooks

dean fitzgerald

raymond mccoy

chris murphy

sean mallon

karl hughes

stephen Rodgers

john o'laughlin

shane reddish

raymond campbell

  Copyright 1997-2002 Jonny McCullagh
Website created by Red Branch Web Design
  DISCLAIMER: This is an unofficial Newry Town FC website, which receives no help or assistance from the club. No correspondence will be entered into on behalf of the club, particularly in relation to merchandise sales and prospective players.
The views expressed on this page are those of the originator (the editor or readers) and in no way represent the views or opinions of Newry Town Football Club Ltd or the Irish League Football Association.